Follow Now.....!

NORML

Meet one of the leading organisations for legalisation of marijuana

Blastronaut - Burning Mother

The debut album by the new stoner/heavy rock band Blastronaut!

DaVinci Vaporizer

Another popular handheld vaporizer, how did the stoned review team get on, click to find out!

John Dies At The End

Its Weird and Creepy, but thats why we love it!

A Scanner Darkly

Look at things from their point of view!

27 February 2013

The Legend Lives On

Take a step into the shoes of the legend that is Bob Marley and share his experiences and troubles which fell before him. Kevin Macdonalds Marley (2012) takes an intimate look into the life of Bob Marley from his troubles as a young musician to his tragic and untimely death. It was an ambitious project to undertake and required delicate handling to pull it off effectively.

Encapsulating the story of Bob Marley couldn’t have been an easy task, with the amount of things that happened to him from good to bad but it was pulled off reasonably well. While some of the events weren’t properly explored, it seemed somewhat more important to show just how often he faced an array of issues.

One important thing the filmed struggled to do was build an emotional connection with the man himself. It focused much more on being a documentary rather than a tribute, and missed out by focusing on his connection with his family and friends a bit too often. We would have preferred to see more of how his music inspired a generation and changed some parts of the world for ever.
Reggae is presented as it should be in the film however, instead of what is stereotypically seen in a lot of TV and film. It shows how the music helped to inspire people and bring them closer to each other. It shows it more as just music in a sense, it’s an ethos on building a better world for everyone.

While the film did explore his use of marijuana, it didn’t look at it extensively, showing that he stood for a lot more than some might suggest. This was done well, since focusing on it too much would have just taken away from what he achieved in his short life.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a fantastically interesting documentary about a truly great man. It held more ground as a documentary than others but often didn’t display the same emotions that connected him to his music. We feel the film deserves an 8/10 for genuinely making us think about him in a different way and seeing a new side to the legend of Marley.

Smoke That Pineapple Express

Getting paranoid isn’t so bad when your wanted men. Pineapple Express (2008) takes the life of the court-process clerk and stoner Dale and turns it upside down. After witnessing a drug king-pin murder some competition, Dale and Saul go on the run for their lives when they realise they have been smoking his weed. For the pair of stoners, a life on the run isn’t easy, especially when irrational thoughts take over.

The opening scenes of the film effectively give a solid impression of what the film is about. The movie features the theme of cannabis heavily, a theme which we often prefer to be more subtle. This involvement of the drug with the story has been seen before in a few newer movies but often it’s added as an element rather than a theme. We feel the film managed to pull this off effectively but often felt a bit lazy.

The characters were ones who we enjoyed watching, however we felt that they were all very stereotypically created. With the stupid stoners and corrupt police, there wasn’t a particularly fresh look at making its characters interesting. If you like Seth Rogan then you will most likely like the film, his character is pretty similar to many other films that he is in except being a bit more stupid.

The film clearly had a big budget with the amount of fancier effects that it presents. They did manage to pull of the visual aspect of the film well, and used it to build up the story and characters. Comedy wise the film is pretty amusing but not one of the funniest that we have watched. In our opinion it’s decent but not on par with some of his other films such as Zack and Miri Make a Porno.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall we did enjoy the film but found it lacked a bit of style and could have been improved in a few areas. We found it relatively funny and really enjoyed the story even if it was a tad ridiculous. We feel it deserves a 7/10 for being great to watch but far from perfect.

26 February 2013

Harold & Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay

Harold and Kumar are back and ready for another weed fuelled adventure. Harold & Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay (2008) yet again says it all in the title. The get more than a slap on the wrist when their bong is mistaken for a bomb and they are sent to Guantanamo Bay as terrorists. After escaping, the duo has to face a long cross country adventure to try and clear their names.

The film is exactly what it says on the tin; Harold and Kumar escape from Guantanamo bay and go on the run. Putting the main plot point straight up in the title is a risky move but they managed to pull it off again with moderate success. The story is very straight forward and a bit like their last film, lots of random events keep happening to them, which are fun but add a bit too much similarity. The similarities that are seen didn’t ruin our enjoyment but did put a damper on things. The story had more meat in the long run, but we didn’t enjoy it in the same way as the previous film.

The characters are just more of the same. They are a bit thick and again points fun at law enforcement and politics. They were used to expand the plot more in this film with several other storylines running parallel to their own. This is mostly the federal agents chasing them and always managing to fall short.

The film is pretty consistent throughout the film with the comedy coming from their actions and the events which take place. This is one thing we are glad they didn’t change as it was what made their other film so funny.


Rating
6/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a pretty decent film but defiantly not one of the best. It’s an easy film to watch and doesn’t require your full attention. We are giving it a 6/10 for being funny but not as much as we had expected. Why not let us know what you thought in the comments below.

Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle

It’s our first encounter with the stoner duo and how could we resist a title like get the munchies. The more commonly known as Harold & Kumar go to WhiteCastle (2004)tells the story of two ordinary guys who get stoned and then go on a journey to get the food they crave. Finding WhiteCastle isn’t going to be easy when you keep getting sidetracked, it’s a trip they will never forget.

The title says it all really, the main plot of the film is effectively that they want some burgers and go on a trip to get some. Although this might sound like a rather weak plot, it’s the filler between them and their goal that does all the work. The encounters they face along the way are essentially the main body of the film. While most of these are funny, some went on a bit longer than was necessary. Some scenes we enjoyed a lot, the parody of the small town police officers was pretty amusing, but wasn’t very long.

The characters in the film are pretty dummed down when they have supposed to have been smoking, which was amusing but got a bit too much near the end. We really enjoyed the introduction of their fellow Jewish stoners, Goldstein and Rosenberg. While a bit stereotypical, they added another fun element that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The many quirky characters and awkward situations they encounter on their journey makes for a fascinating watch. With each person more ridiculous than the last, it sets the basis for the situational comedy that the film presents. It’s not exactly an enlightening watch, just something to enjoy watching while relaxed.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is pretty good; it has a decent but not brilliant story, characters which are well diversified and a comedy style somewhat reminiscent of Cheech and Chong. Now we have to say they were nowhere near as funny or had the same style as Cheech and Chong, only played a long a similar comedy style. We are giving the film a 7/10 for providing us with a fun evening.

25 February 2013

The World Needs Clerks

It might not be the most glamorous of jobs but where would we be without the humble shop clerks. Clerks (1994), is an old school look at the monotony of those people in society whose job it is to serve us. For these Clerks life might seem a little dull but what they have to face on a daily basis is far from ordinary.

The film follows Dante and Randal on another day working at a local convenience store as if it’s just any other work day. The film is set like a Sit-Com with most of the story coming from the everyday encounters and not so normal events that take place. The film hardly moves from the same setting which isn’t as boring as it may seem. It’s a simple derivation of the world we all have to endure and sends a very clear message, it’s not all bad.

The characters are the main scope of the movie and the story is very much worked from their perspective rather than being placed after the story was made. The film really has an edge that makes it great, it’s very well written and makes you stop and think. It’s not exactly filled with action so you adrenaline junkies should probably look elsewhere, but it worked in the right way.

The comedy is very organic and while it doesn’t present much of a laugh out loud experience, it simply improves our appreciation. We think that most people can relate to one or more of the themes in the film because what it really presents is, a commentary on life!


Rating
9/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a truly great film and incredibly well made for a writers first film. What Kevin Smith managed to do was very creative and risky but paid off immensely. We feel it deserves a solid 9/10 and would happily recommend it to anyone. It may be classified as a cult film, but don't let that put you off. It deserves far more credit than it often receives. Please feel free to leave a comment if you have something to say!

Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back

Our favourite stoners Jay and Silent Bob have finally got their own movie so it’s off to Hollywood to stop it. Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back (2001) gives the duo their chance at being the main stars in their own adventure. After reading abuse thrown at the fictional versions of themselves in a new Hollywood movie, the duo embark on a cross country adventure to stop it from ever being made.

Being Fan’s of the movies of Kevin Smith we had grown accustomed to the ranting and raving of the stoner duo, we had our concerns about the film. We had gotten used to them in small doses from his other films but weren’t sure if they would be able to hold up as the main characters. However after watching the film we were happily relieved at the outcome.

The story is pretty random and illogical, but suits the persona's of Jay and Silent Bob well. The majority of the film is about their journey to Hollywood and the people they meet along the way. This made for a very interesting watch with a comedy style which just seemed to work.

The characters are all well played and fit the film perfectly, it’s set up to be ridiculous and that is exactly what gets presented. The cast is full of pretty high profile actors and the clean feel makes it feel like an A-list comedy movie. The film is packed full of drug references that manage to be entirely funny and added another dimension to the film


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall we found the film brilliantly funny and full of proper laugh out loud comedy. We can understand why a lot of people have a bad opinion of the film due to it being pretty stupid. However we really enjoy this type of comedy and have to award the film an 8/10. We highly recommend going into the film with a fresh mind and just enjoy it without comparison to their previous roles.

24 February 2013

Super skunk (extra strength) Review

Super skunk was one of those odd products which we happened to come across and decided to give it a go. The outside of the packet is pretty interesting and offers an intoxicating herbal smoking mixture. Its a product made by Am-Hi-Co, a well known company in the smoking mix business. For only £2.99 the product certainly seemed worth it, so when we got back we opened the packet and sat down to roll a joint.


Rating
2/10

Links

Related Posts
We noticed the mixture has a really strange smell, kinda spicy so we aren't sure exactly what was in it, we then rolled two smokes, one with weed and one without. The mixture is very awkward to roll with as its very large pieces and has random sticks in it, if the mixture isn't falling out when your trying to roll then its breaking through the skin.

Grinding the mixture down did help a bit but it was still hard to roll with. We smoked the smoking mix only first, it actually had a pleasant taste but so much for it being a legal high, there was no effect at all and it burns very hot. We then lit up the joint and man did it ruin our smoke, the joint gave off a terrible acrid taste and we couldn't smoke the rest of the thing.

Therefore our verdict is that this is not a good smoking mix for weed but on its own it could be nice to smoke if you want something to have instead of cigarettes. This is an odd product from the Amsterdam highs company, as a legal high it sucks and as a mix it sucks even more. The only positive point that we can say about this product is that its very cheap, however we really cant recommend the product. We always try to be fair with our reviews but we really cant give this product more than a 2/10

Super Size That Joint

Smoking cannabis for thirty days doesn’t sound like much of a movie plot but that’s exactly what Super High Me (2012) is all about. The parody film says everything in the title, just like the burger eating Super Size Me, it’s nothing but marijuana for thirty days. The noted stoner comic Doug Benson took on the challenge and made a film out of it to great success.

The film has a very simple idea which could have come across very badly if not done well. However the combination of interviews, medical tests and generally fascinating information makes for a very interesting documentary. It also has a comedic side with clips from Doug’s various stand up shows when high and also when not.

The documentary plays an informative role in breaking down the stigmas related to cannabis use. The medical tests and various interviews show how cannabis doesn’t particularly change the user and fights back against the negative propaganda.

The medical side of cannabis is also shown in the film and shows how it can make a real difference to some people’s lives. This also manages to portray the problems that these dispensaries face from federal laws as opposed to the state laws.

The comedy segments really helped to break up the film a bit and made it far more enjoyable to watch. We did feel that the film used a lot of filler however, with many scenes simply showing him smoking pot with groups of different people.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a pretty interesting documentary about the stigma surrounding the use of cannabis. While the film addressed a lot of issues that are faced by medical and recreational users, it didn’t feel like it covered all the bases. We think the film deserves a 7/10 for being something new and interesting to watch. We would recommend this film to anyone, no matter their standing on the use of drugs.

23 February 2013

He's Just A Grandmas Boy

He might be a stoner and a games tester but he’s still just a Grandmas Boy. Grandmas Boy (2006) follows the story of a 35 year old games tester who has to move in with his Grandma after being kicked out of his apartment. It might not be his ideal situation but he’s going to learn it’s a whole bunch of fun.

We had been somewhat avoiding the movie having read into the movie completely wrong. The idea behind it just didn’t sound like it could work but it somehow did. The story is pretty good with various twists that are comedy gold but other scenes didn’t stand up to the test. “My grandma drank all my pot” this lead to one of the best segments of the film and made us wish our grandparents were that awesome.

Some of the characters in the film were a bit over the top, such as J P. We know it’s supposed to be set in a games company headquarters but it was just a bit too uber geek for our liking. Alex on the other hand was a great character and provided us with a lot of amusing situation and dialogue. Other characters such as his Grandma and his dealer also added an extra branch of fun.

The main thing about this film is that it’s supposed to be fun and a bit stupid. We feel it is worth more merit than it often gets for being a clean and well produced comedy. Even those who don’t like the drug elements should be able to look past them and enjoy it.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film was a thoroughly entertaining watch and a film that we will go back to at some point. The story was pretty average but the odd scenes really made up for it. We are glad we finally got round to watching it because we were pleasantly surprised. The film deserves a 7/10 for being amusing throughout and giving us an enjoyable experience.

How High Will You Get

It’s high time they went somewhere with their lives and they have just been handed an opportunity they cannot ignore. How High (2001) follows two brothers from the hood who get to go to college after smoking some magical herb. The two stoners turn the upper class college on its head with their antics and will change things for good.

When Silas and Jamal ace their college entry exams after smoking some special weed, they are accepted to Harvard. For the two streetwise guys it’s a massive change of scenery, in a place where drugs and partying are of least concern. The story is pretty straight forward, it see’s two streetwise guys being thrown out of their comfort zone but somehow they manage to make it their own. The clash between the two cultures was an interesting plot for the film but it worked out relatively well.

The two main characters are instantly likeable have some pretty interesting characteristics, they are set up perfectly to clash with the setting of the film. Other characters also contributed to making it a great watch. However the odd few just annoyed us by being completely unnecessary for the story.

The film is pretty much a straight up stoner comedy with the main theme consistently being about the use of drugs. This was fun for a while but got a tad repetitive nearer the end making it somehow feel like it had lost its meaning. The main idea about the pot with magical properties was something very refreshing and made us happy we had taken the time to watch the film.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film has a pretty good story, setting and set of characters. However we did feel that it was lacking something, we did enjoy the film it just didn’t make us want to watch it again. We think that 7/10 is a fair score, as there are much better stoner comedies out there.

Legalize With Norml UK

NORML -UK is the British wing of the Marijuana legalisation organisation NORML. As an affiliate group of NORML, they help to bring the same information to a British audience. While they haven’t been running for as long and are not as big, they are helping to bring much needed exposure of the problems with the law. NORML-UK’s mission statement is as follows:

“NORML UK seeks to gain recognition for the rights of people to peacefully pursue activities relating to cannabis without unwarranted intervention by the authorities”

While not being as professional looking as the main NORML website, it is still easy to navigate and has a ton of useful information. The website does lack a lot of features that its American cousin has, such as a lack of information on the drug itself. This does show that they are more in pressing political pressure than spreading information. It does make up for the lack of information on the website, by using its social media accounts to share information.


Links

Related Posts
They have a fully functional blog as part of their site and use this to share interesting information from around the world in relation to cannabis. They have played a key roll in the past year by helping to run many legalisation events such as protests and smoke outs.

Overall the site isn’t fantastic but the organisation is doing some great work in the UK. They are helping to share information and are making it possible for people to look at the possibility of change. We fully support NORML-UK for the work they have done and are continuing to do. Check out the links on this page to go see what they are doing for fairer policy in the UK.

22 February 2013

Legalize With Norml

NORML is an American based Marijuana legalisation organisation founded in 1970. It was created in order to give the public a voice about the topic of Marijuana prohibition. The non-profit organisation represents those who wish to use the drug responsibly for both medical and recreational purposes. They have always been and remain to be one of the biggest organisations to stand up against prohibition. Their mission statement is as follows:

“NORML's mission is to move public opinion sufficiently to legalize the responsible use of marijuana by adults, and to serve as an advocate for consumers to assure they have access to high quality marijuana that is safe, convenient and affordable”

The site is well built and easy to navigate around. It has a fresh, clean design which allows it to appear as a very professional organisation. The site has many different sections which each contain plenty of information. No matter what you are interested in reading out there is a section with information for you.


Links

Related Posts

Want to learn more about cannabis? Then there is plenty of information available on site about the drug. There are plenty of articles about how the drug affects you and what benefits it can provide from both personal and medical use. This section of the site is well worth a read because it allows you to get an understanding of what you are using without the negative stereotypes that are normally applied. Other services the site has to offer such as legal information and the in depth blog provides plenty of interesting information to read. It doesn’t matter if you are for or against the prohibition of cannabis, the site can offer a lot in reliable information.

Overall it’s a great organisation with a great website. It is regularly updated and well maintained meaning that you can always get the most up to date information. As supporters of cannabis legalization, we chose to support this organisation because of the good work they have done and continue to do.

Pick 'N' Mix

If you are looking to buy some cannabis seeds then we have been taking a look at a few of the many available sites to see which can offer you the best service. One of the lucky few was Pick ‘N’ Mix seeds, we ordered a couple of seeds to see how their service stood up to the others. Please note that while it may be legal to own cannabis seeds, it’s illegal in most places to plant them.

Pick ‘N’ Mix seeds is a great looking website with a Johnny Depp inspired Wonka theme. The pages are easily navigated by allowing you to search by either seed bank or seed type. It has a vast collection of different seed to choose from with plenty of feminized varieties available. Nearly every type of seed is available as a single order as well, allowing you to pick and choose the varieties you get while keeping cost down.

Our order was quickly processed and posted the same day with next day delivery, true to its word our package turned up the following day. Our order was well packaged and relatively stealthy, with the seeds seeming healthy and intact. The whole process was hassle free and was slightly cheaper than we had expected. Their customer service was also excellent and they answered our questions efficiently, unfortunately it wasn’t the quickest service we have used. As with all seed banks, they will not give out information about growing since they sell them as souvenirs.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall we had an easy and hassle free using Pick ‘N’ Mix seeds, we highly recommend them if you are looking for a reliable seed bank. We are giving them 8/10 for their service and feel the only let down was the speed that they took to get back to us via email.

Seeds With Attitude

If you are looking to buy some cannabis seeds then we have been taking a look at a few of the many available sites to see which can offer you the best service. One of the lucky few was Attitude seeds, we ordered a couple of seeds to see how their service stood up to the others. Please note that while it may be legal to own cannabis seeds, it’s illegal in most places to plant them.

Attitude seed bank is a large worldwide seed bank with a snazzy website for all your cannabis seed needs. The site is well built and easy to navigate. Clearly defined areas are placed on the homepage to allow you quick browsing. Allowing a large variety of seeds, such as regular, feminized and auto flowering to be found in several easy steps. They also allow you to use a pick and mix service to get single seeds if needed. However, finding a specific seed type did take a bit longer than on comparable sites.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Our order was easy to place and it took very little effort, there are many options available for delivery such as items of clothing. We chose one of the cheaper stealth options and it was dispatched on the same day. The order arrived very quickly and we even had a free seed chucked in with our order which was a nice bonus. The package was nice and stealthy and we had no issues with receiving the goods.

Overall it’s a very nice site which serves a professional seed bank, they had good communication and the orders arrived with no hassle. We are giving Attitude seed bank 8/10 for their great service, the only let down was the issue with finding a specific seed and that it was a bit more expensive.

Get High At Herbies Headshop

If you are looking to buy some cannabis seeds then we have been taking a look at a few of the many available sites to see which can offer you the best service. One of the lucky few was Herbies Headshop, we ordered a couple of seeds to see how their service stood up to the others. Please note that while it may be legal to own cannabis seeds, it’s illegal in most places to plant them.

Herbies headshop is an attractive seedbank that offers worldwide discreet deliveries for all you seed needs. They have a vast selection of seeds available for purchase from a large selection of breeders. Finding seeds is very easy with their advanced search panel and they also have several sections for those who don’t know what they are looking for.


Rating
9/10

Links

Related Posts
Our order was processed and handled efficiently being posted the same day. The seeds we ordered were bought at a very good price and we got a bunch of bonus seeds with the order, ending up with 7 instead of the 3 we ordered. Although these were just regular seeds, it was still a nice bonus. The order arrived the following day in some very stealthy packaging. It even took us a couple of minute to figure out what it was that arrived in the post.

Overall it’s a well run site and seed bank which offers a great choice in variety, the customer service was brilliant and we would recommend their service. We are giving Herbies Headshop a 9/10 because even though it was a service we were impressed by, the cost wasn’t the lowest we have seen.

Grow Your Own With THCtalk

THCtalk is a reasonably well known online forum for growers and marijuana enthusiasts. With a huge amount of expert information and other services available for its users, THCtalk has become the place to go about cannabis Horticulture. Even if you‘re just wanting to pick up some cooking tips, the site has something for you.

The site can’t exactly be referred to as safe for work but it’s an attractive forum with many interesting features. The main body of the site is the forum which has a bunch of sections for your enjoyment. It doesn’t matter if you are looking for some general stoner chat, growing tips or what had been in the news lately, you can find it all here.

The forum is very heavily skewed towards growing cannabis. You can find whatever information you are looking for, if it’s indoor or outdoor, small or large scale and how to avoid detection. Each section is well moderated so that you can quickly and easily find the information you are after. Please note that it may or may not be illegal to grow cannabis where you live.


Links

Related Posts
The site also has a shop that sells a large variety of seeds, we have never used this function though so can’t comment on the level of service. There is a large amount of information regarding cannabis as well, from information on scientific studies to good books and other reading sources.

Overall it’s a nice site with plenty of good features. It is well used and maintained so all the information tends to be up to date and accurate. If you are looking for a community to just chat about cannabis with then this place might be ideal for you.

Legalize With Legalize Ohio 2013

This is an attractive new website for 2013 that is supporting the legalization of marijuana and we agree with them 100%. The website hasn't been around for long but has already gained a strong support however they still need to gain more support for their cause.

"The United States National Debt is well over $16,000,000,000,000 and growing daily. When will the madness stop? The time is now to legalize and tax marijuana! It can help get our economy back on the right track. Will marijuana single handedly bring the US out of debt? No, but it is a step in the right direction. We can take the money from legalizing and taxing marijuana to put back into the community in places such as schools or repairing roads. Anything the state needs the money for. We need to end the failed war on a plant. It is a natural substance with uses greater than we know."


Links

Related Posts
The website is well maintained and contains a bunch of nice features, one of these is the support shop which sells many items of clothing and stickers to help fund their cause. The site is well followed in the social media and updates daily, this dedication to their work is simply inspiring and shows they really want to reach out to people and show them the truth. The website might not be the most flash or fancy thing on the internet but it is straight and too the point.

They recently released a petition for their campaign and they need all the signatures they can get. This is still a small site but we hope to help and see it flourish so that it can reach as many people as possible. If your from the Ohio area then why not give them your support.

20 February 2013

Cheech and Chongs Next Movie

Cheech and Chong return in their second major feature film. It’s more of the same from the comedy duo with plenty more thrills and spills. Cheech and Chong’s Next Movie (1980), follows the two stoners who live in a condemned old house and try to get by while being completely broke. After Cheech’s cousin Red comes to town, Chong finds he is as crazy about weed as he is. Meanwhile Cheech waits for the woman of his dreams to come see him.

The film does have a main plot but it doesn’t come across very well due to the amount of seemingly random events that take place. It is like a series of sketches that take place one after the other and form some semblance of a story. Separating Cheech and Chong only really worked out half of the time, Red wasn’t a particularly good replacement for Cheech and the Cheech storyline wasn’t very impressive.

It had the same mix of characters that it usually has, showing a whole branch of society and how crazy it is. Most of the cast in the film was new, giving it a very different feel. There was a lot more contrast to Cheech and Chong rather than a similar group of people. This made them seem a bit more insignificant than they should have been.

There is plenty more weed related humour with more of Chong’s massive joints and wacky ways. The film is pretty funny throughout but some of the scenes didn’t manage to stand up to the rest. The ending of the film was pretty strange but then again the whole film is a bit like that and it had us watching all the way to the end.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a great film, with many great characters and themes. The overall story didn’t really hold much ground but the individual scenes made up for it. While we thought it was just as funny as Up in Smoke, it just didn’t have the same overall appeal. That is why we are giving the film an 8/10, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea but we sure did like it.

Things are tough all over

Things are tough all over so remember your situation could be far worse. Things Are Tough All Over (1982) follows Cheech and Chong on another adventure where things continue to get messy. Hired to drive a limo to Las Vegas by two shady Arabs, the two stoners get ready for a cross country adventrure. What they don’t know is that millions of dollars of money are cunningly hidden within the car and now the Arabs are after them.

The film follows a similar plot to Up in Smoke where they are smuggling something without their knowledge, this time however its money. It is similar in more way than this however as it uses the same idea as before, the thing they want most is hidden right under their noses. The film does offer a more complete story while retaining the chance encounters and events that they are well known for. However the story isn’t actually that good and didn’t really feel like anything new.

Cheech and Chong actually play both sets of main characters in this film. They are both themselves and the Arabs that are chasing them. This was a nice idea but wasn’t pulled off very well, the two Arab characters weren’t particularly funny and kind of felt like they were only there to flesh out the story.

We didn’t find the film anywhere near as funny as the other Cheech and Chong films we love. Perhaps this is down to the comedy remaining pretty consistent across all their films and that it’s simply starting to get a bit stale. While we still enjoyed watching the film there wasn’t as much of the usual pot smoking antics or drug related themes.


Rating
6/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s an average film and a bit of a let down for the duo. It still had the unique style of Cheech and Chong but lacked humour at a lot of points. We feel the film deserves a 6/10 and would still recommend watching it, just don’t be expecting another fantastic film.

They Are Still Smokin

They might be in Amsterdam, the weed capital of Europe, but it’s a fact they seem somewhat oblivious too. Still Smokin (1983) follows the story of Cheech and Chong after they are invited to Amsterdam for a celebrity festival. When one of the hosts runs off with all the money, Cheech and Chong take on the rolls of Mr. Burt and Mr. Dolly, for the rest of their trip.

The story if you can call it that, is based on them turning up in Amsterdam at a so called celebrity festival. That is about as much as the story is explained or expanded on. The film instead uses a series of sketches that the characters have invented, some are pretty funny but others are jsut downright odd. We didn’t enjoy the lack of story and the sketches didn’t really leave much of a lasting impression on us.

The character list of Still Smokin is very short as it’s mostly just them screwing around in the sketches. This lack of character dynamic really didn’t work out and we really missed the diversity of characters that we are used to seeing in Cheech and Chong films.

While a lot of the film is actually funny, there is a lot which is also pretty terrible. We would say that it was about 50/50 good and bad and there were not enough of the truly funny scenes to improve our opinion of the film. The film really just lacks any sort of edge and just feels like they were running out of ideas. Leaving them with only the more risky ideas meant that it didn’t end up being very successful.


Rating
5/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a very average film with nothing particularly great going for it. It pains us to give a Cheech and Chong film a low score, but it really didn’t deliver so we have to. We are giving the film a 5/10 and are a bit dubious about recommending it. If you are a Cheech and Chong fan you will probably enjoy it, but if not you should probably stay clear of this one.

Up in Smoke

You wanna get high man? Does Howdy Doody got wooden Balls man? Up in Smoke (1978) features Cheech and Chong as they first meet and pair up as the duo of stoners loved by many around the world. When they unknowingly get caught up in a plot to smuggle a van made of marijuana across the border, they find that trouble is waiting for them.

The film cleverly introduces the pair of stoners as strangers who come together through their love of drugs and music. The film has a pretty fun and interesting storyline about the van made of marijuana. The fact that they didn’t know this made it even better, since they are having trouble finding any smoke for themselves.

The characters are exactly what you expect from a pair of classic stoners. They don’t have the ridiculously high drug tolerance of those in modern films, making it seem a bit more realistic. Even if they are a bit dim witted, they haven’t been made overly stupid in comparison to some of the more negative weed themed films.

There is strong drug references throughout that are both enjoyable and interesting to watch. There is also a pretty decent music segment and also plenty of great soundtrack music throughout. It’s very much the classic type of stoner comedy which has sadly been lost with newer film.


Rating
9/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is brilliantly funny and had us laughing for some time. It may not be everyone’s cup of tea but we enjoyed the classic feel. It features a pretty amusing story and even though it’s got very strong drug themes, the film can be enjoyed by everyone. There is a unique style to the Cheech and Chong films that have made them very genre defining films in our eyes. We are giving the film 9/10 for being probably one of the best stoner films ever made!

Nice Dreams

They might look like their selling Ice Cream but it’s actually some pretty strange bud. Cheech & Chong’s Nice Dreams (1981) follows the duo as they are getting to grips with their new business venture. Selling weed from their ice cream truck might seem like the ideal cover, but when your weed is transforming people it’s bound to get you noticed.

The film features a much more rigid storyline in this film, the two dealers trying to become sun kings in paradise. The story in the film gives it a greater sense of purpose than their previous efforts and still manages to include the random encounters and side stories. One of our favourite things was the weed that turned people into a lizard, it’s a good way of pointing fun at the negative propaganda cannabis usually gets.

The film features many returning cast members. However they are not intended to be linked in any way to the other films. Characters such as Donna from Next Movie make an appearance but act as if they are completely new characters. We found this a little frustrating as if you have watched the other films, you know that they have met before.

The dream sequences were unnecessarily reintroduced in the film for no good reason. This time it was some sort of drug induced delirium which had no connection to the story. For the most part the film was very amusing and was a fun commentary on the lives of a dealer.


Rating
9/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is well made and clearly deserves more merit than it gets. We feel it’s one of the best Cheech and Chong films and is equally on par with Up in Smoke. While the film tended to get a bit loose near the end it still holds up as a fantastic movie. It deserves a score of 9/10 for being different but retaining the comedy style of a proper Cheech and Chong film.

18 February 2013

We Are Only Half Baked

It’s time to burn with Mr Nice Guy and hang out with Mary Jane. Half Baked (1998) is a stoner comedy written by and starring Dave Chappelle. The story follows a group of stoners, who after their friend Kenny gets locked up start their own weed dealing business to raise his bail. The aptly named Mr Nice Guy get more than they bargained for when the competition wants to fight back.

The film is a full on stoner flick with the entire story based around the theme of marijuana use. The story doesn’t have much meat to it but is thoroughly enjoyable none the less. The story has a strong Romantic theme but is masked slightly with comedy in a way that made it much better for us. The small scenes about the people within the pot culture were very amusing and we are sure you can recognise something of yourself in these people.

The characters are well suited with the story and their personal connections provide added comedy. We particularly enjoyed the appearance of Tommy Chong, the face of many great stoner comedies. Dave Chappelle’s character of Thrugood was pretty interesting and matched the scope of the entire film well. While his love interest Mary Jane Potman added a contradictory element, the play on her name was also highly enjoyed.

Both the main story and the small side sections are very funny and the comedy remains consistently throughout. It may not be to everyone’s tastes with the constant marijuana use but we found it was made all the better for it.


Rating
9/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a fantastically well rounded stoner comedy. It was well written and even though we don’t always enjoy the romantic elements in films, it really worked in its favour. We believe that the film deserves a 9/10 and would highly recommend watching it. It has joined our collection of favourite films but we are interested in what you thought. Why not leave a comment below and tell us your opinion.

17 February 2013

A Teddy With Attitude

You’re never going to think of a teddy in the same way again when this foul mouthed bear comes to town. Ted (2012) follows the adventures of John after his childhood teddy bear comes to life. It may seem like a dream come true but things aren’t as innocent as they might seem. More than just their friendship is at stake when adult life comes a knocking.

Encapsulating a child like element with more adult themes is something that Seth McFarlane is used to doing in Family Guy. We had our concerns that it wouldn’t transmute from cartoon comedy to live action but it was pulled off to a reasonably good degree. The main story isn’t all that great but does set up plenty of individual scenes that make it worth the watch.

The characters were all pretty well grounded but didn’t leave much of an impression on us with some characters not sitting well. Donny for example wasn’t exactly threatening but instead came across as rather disturbed. This was probably the aim but it still didn’t seem all that right, we would rather have seen him a bit more psychotic.

The film was reasonably funny throughout and had us laughing out loud a few times. It seems to have taken a step back from stoner comedy even with the multiple references and aimed to reach a wider audience. We feel this paid off in bringing the comedy to a wider field of people but struggled to keep us interested at points.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a pretty decent film but lacks a few finishing touches that could have made it much better. We are giving it a 7/10 for its creative twist on a child like storyline. It may have not been as good as we initially hoped but we still think it’s worth a watch. It might not be for everyone so why not let us know what you thought in the comments below.

Highland Products

Highland papers were a new brand for us when we first picked up a couple of booklets, they have several designs of packets available for purchase. The packets range from 40 to 50 papers and all come with an attached roach strip for all your rolling needs.

These papers are relatively large and the paper is much thicker than the majority of brands we have used. This roach papers are really thick and hard to roll, we found that it took much longer to get a size of roach we were happy with. The papers themselves are easy to roll with and the gum stuck well.

The taste from these papers was pretty awful, it was very acrid and not a pleasant experience overall. We also found that the papers tended to unravel once burned which occasionally resulted in them falling apart entirely.

The one main upside to these papers is that they are cheap. For the same price as a standard packet of papers, you get extra papers and enough roach’s to match. So really when choosing to buy these papers or not, it’s best to consider if you want quantity or quality. If you are looking for quality we suggest that you look elsewhere.


Rating
5/10

Related Posts

Overall the Highland papers performed averagely and weren’t to our liking. The main upside is the price and quantity and the main downside is the taste. We are giving the papers a 5/10 mainly because of the affordability. We hope you found this review useful and make sure to check out our other reviews for more information.