Follow Now.....!

NORML

Meet one of the leading organisations for legalisation of marijuana

Blastronaut - Burning Mother

The debut album by the new stoner/heavy rock band Blastronaut!

DaVinci Vaporizer

Another popular handheld vaporizer, how did the stoned review team get on, click to find out!

John Dies At The End

Its Weird and Creepy, but thats why we love it!

A Scanner Darkly

Look at things from their point of view!

21 March 2013

Party at the bio-dome!

Bio-dome (1996) is a stoner comedy film which follows the adventure of two potheads who accidentally find themselves trapped in a Bio-dome experiment for a year after mistaking it for a mall. The duo almost wreck the experiment by organizing a party with in the bio-dome and it gets With help from the scientists they manage to save the experiment and even grow some pot in the process.

Bio-dome is certainly a film that left an impression on us although not exactly a good one. Created in 1996, it was directed by Jason Bloom who is known for films such as Overnight Delivery and Viva Las Nowhere, however Bio-dome sits as a black mark in his repertoire. With a terrible 1/100 score from metacritic and 4.0 on IMDB its not exactly got a lot going for it however we decided it was only fair to give it a go.

The story follows the two idiotic stoners who accidentally get trapped in a scientific experiment known as a biodome for an entire year. That is about as complex as the story gets and was thoroughly disappointing throughout, there are a few points where more happens but nothing particularly interesting happens at all. Most good comedy films are built upon their characters, however in this case there was nothing to build on. Bud and Doyle really have no structure, they are just idiotic and childish and are in no sense of the word realistic.

The film does have some comedy in it, however most of the jokes are lost in context and don't seem to have any relevance to the plot. We enjoyed the film for perhaps 10% of the time but the rest was just completely awful and we really struggled to sit through the whole thing.


Rating
4/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall this film is pretty terrible and really shows that comedy isn't as easy as it looks, we decided to give the film 4/10 because it made a decent attempt to do something a bit different. A few of the jokes did make us laugh but the characters were completely terrible and brought the film down even more. What we can say for sure is that we would never recommend this film to anyone and if you do find yourself watching it be prepared to be disappointed.

Are you Dazed and Confused?

Take a journey back into your teenage years with Dazed and Confused (1993) a film about those important years of discovering what life really has to offer. It might be set in the 1970s but that doesn’t mean that any of the themes don’t still ring true in modern society.

The film follows the stories of several groups of high school teenagers on their last day of school before summer, there are parties, drinking, drugs and paddles. It’s a classic high school adventure which follows the stoners, the jocks and the geeks, it doesn’t matter who they hang with. They are all dazed and confused.

The characters are what this film is all about; there isn’t some lavish adventure or ridiculous plot. It is a simple journey of discovery. Each character brings a unique side to the story and effectively helps to replicate the variation that we see in real life. This gives the film a very realistic feel and still to this day is refreshing to watch.

There isn’t any particular laugh out loud moments but there is an overall comedic style to the film while remaining very firmly within the drama genre. This might not be for everyone but we found it thoroughly enjoyable none the less.

We found it particularly enjoyable for the fact that it didn’t focus on a single character and instead took a wider view of society. It’s one of those films we wished we had watched while growing up as we could have taken a lot from it, maybe not all good however.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall we really like the film, it’s got a lot of depth and it really manages to play to its strengths. You might like the film, you might not! We are all different, which exactly the message we took from the film. We decided to give the film 7/10, a fair score as we felt the film was a little slow at points. We hope you found this review helpful and that you give it a watch if you haven’t seen it.

18 March 2013

Let's Get Him to the Greek

The funny but over the top, Get Him to the Greek (2010), features Russell Brand as the drug abusing rock star Aldous Snow. Aaron Green played by Jonah Hill is thrust headfirst into a world of drugs, sex and rock & roll as he attempts to get the headstrong artist to a gig.

Presented as a comedy music film, Get Him to the Greek is a weak example of what the comedy genre has to offer. Yes it has a lot of points that will get you laughing but it is also strongly headed as a drama at points with an almost romantic comedy feel to the overall flick.

We cannot say the film was all bad though, just grounded in the wrong genre for certain scenes. Other scenes did somewhat make up for it, the segment with the Jeffrey remains one of our all time movie scenes and still makes us laugh when we watch it.

The characters were a tad weak and didn’t provide much more than a solid base to work around. Aldous Snow seemed to be an artistic view of Brands life and experiences with working in the entertainment industry. This was played on far too often by the producers of the movie and left us feeling somewhat annoyed at the film.


Rating
6/10

Links

Related Posts

Even though we have been rather critical of the film, we don’t feel that it deserves any less than a 6/10. It might not have been the best film to be released in recent years but still gave us a good laugh. It’s well worth a watch and if you go in without any expectations then you will probably enjoy it. We hope you liked this review and that you stick around and read some more!.

16 March 2013

You dont mess with the Super Troopers!

Offering law enforcement satire at its best, Super Troopers (2001) takes a walk into the world of a bunch of quirky state troopers. When the local police chief wants them shut down, the super troopers must end their playful ways and stand up to the plate to keep their jobs.

"You don't mess with the law. The law messes with you" Need we say more, this perfectly sums up the super troopers. The group of troopers make it their business to screw with the minds of those they arrest. Everything about this film, from the characters to the plot is simply just ridiculous and that’s what makes the film so fantastic.

The film is a classic slapstick style comedy which remains as one of our all time favourite films. It’s easy to watch time and time again and never ceases to be funny. The characters all have a unique quirk which makes them very likeable and somewhat adds a sense of realism.

The film contains one of our all time favourite opening scenes. It’s a perfect opening to the film and sets up the comedy style right from the start. The first time you watch the film it does feel like a series of sketches rather than a well constructed film but it does seem to gel together better the more you watch it.

The film is full to the brim with jokes, gags and events that keep you laughing throughout. The story becomes somewhat unimportant due to the volume of jokes but still hold its own. It’s great to see a film that manages to remain consistently funny in this way and we hold it as one of our favourite comedy film of all time.


Rating
9/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is brilliant. However we still can’t bring ourselves to give it a perfect score. We feel that 9/10 is a fair score for the film as it didn’t blow us away but thoroughly entertained us. We hope you found our review helpful and please feel free to give us your opinion in the comments below.

15 March 2013

Jammin' in the Desert

The Desert Sessions are a musical collective, founded by Josh Homme in 1997. The collective has included many famous face such as Brant Bjork, PJ Harvey, Jeordie White, Dave Catching, Nick Oliveri, Mark Lanegan, John McBain, and many others from the palm desert scene. Their music is a mixture of stoner rock, desert rock and hard rock and all their music has a unique twist. They have created a total of 10 volumes which have been combined into 5 CD albums and we will be taking you through all 5 of these albums. The music that comes from this collaboration is simply stunning, the music really makes you feel like your on a journey. We love to have a smoke and chill out with this music, nothing can quite beat melting into the music and exploring your own mind on a journey of discovery!


Links

Related Posts
Volumes 1 & 2

Sit back and get ready to explore your mind, its a long psychedelic journey on a strip of highway through a burning desert. It feels as if you are hurtling through this desolate environment and somehow flourishing into life. To prevent this from getting anymore weird we should probably get on with the review. This album contains the work of the first two volumes which were released in 1997, its very heavy on the desert rock side of the music but still incorporates the other genres. This is easily one of their best albums and is well worth a listen to!

Our Rating - 8/10

Volumes 3 & 4

The Desert Sessions return with volumes 3&4, released in 1998 on Man's Ruin Record's. The music is much less psychedelic and more just weird. However the music still features the same mind melting rhythms and masterfully played riffs. It was a slight let down in comparison to their first effort, however its still well worth a listen.

Our Rating - 6/10

Volumes 5 & 6

The Desert Sessions Volumes 5&6 is the third album released by the collective in 1999 on Man's Ruin Record's. The album still features their interestingly unique sound while somehow being completely unique and different from their other songs. The album isn't anything special but still features a huge selection of great songs.

Our Rating - 6/10

Volumes 7 & 8

Get ready for the return of the great music that the desert sessions has to offer. Desert Sessions Volumes 7&8 is a fantastic album which explores the genre of music which really doesn't get enough credit. There are songs which are like acid fueled trip in the desert with the brilliant desert rock themes to others which feature life sprung from chaos. This is our favorite album that they have released and features many terrific songs.

Our Rating - 9/10

Volumes 9 & 10

The last and most recent album released in 2003, Desert Sessions Volumes 9 & 10 marks the end of the journey and like many drug filled journey's it ends on a high. Another fusion of Desert and Stoner Rock which invades your mind in a final journey of discovery. While not as good as their previous effort the album still shines out as a great example of the musical talent these musicians have to offer. Its a great album and its one which should be in everyone's musical library.

Our Rating - 8/10

14 March 2013

Its got that Tenacious sound

Tenacious D is an American comedy rock band that was formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1991. Composed of lead vocalist and guitarist Jack Black and lead guitarist and vocalist Kyle Gass, the band has released three albums. The band are a comedy rock band who cleverly spice up their lyrics with comedy. They have unique style which no other band can match, they are by far one of our favorite bands simply because of their quirky lyrics and awesome guitar riffs. They are a one of a kind band and a brilliant contribution to the music industry. The may not be stoner rock but the are keen cannabis activists having played concerts for organizations such as NORML.


Links

Related Posts
Tenacious D

Tenacious D is the first studio album by Tenacious D, released in 2001 on Epic Records. It may be their first album but it was a huge success and featured brilliant songs such as "tribute" which was also their first single. The album is full of great songs with Jacks singing still really carrying the weight of most of their songs. The riffs are masterfully played and really shows the talent of this band.

Our Rating - 8/10

The Pick Of Destiny

The pick of destiny is the second album released by Tenacious D in 2006 as a soundtrack to their feature film of the same name, you can find the film review here. The film featured a bunch of great songs but overall the album really didn't live up to its predecessor. The songs really worked along with the film but not so much as a stand alone album. The songs didn't seem as well written as previous, perhaps they didn't have as much time while also making the film. Its still well worth a listen to.

Our Rating - 6/10

Rize Of The Fenix

Rize of the Fenix is the third and most recent studio album released by Tenacious D in 2012. The album was released initially with fears it was going to damage their reputation but it gained huge critical acclaim. It was nominated for the best comedy album at the 2013 Grammy awards, and was given great reviews from everywhere. The album was a lot better written than the previous and featured some brilliant songs, the creative spark is back and it was really worth the wait.

Our Rating - 7/10

13 March 2013

Get High With Your Highness

Your highness (2011) is a fantasy comedy with a twist, featuring Danny McBride and James Franco it’s bound to be a bit stupid. It follows the story of two very different princes who live very different lives, one is noble and loved while the other would sit around smoking and hitting on chicks. When an evil wizard kidnaps the bride of prince Fabious, the pair must band together in order to restore peace to the land.

The film is classified as a fantasy comedy with a fairytale setting. However it’s really not a kid’s film with the many various adult themes coming across very strong. Drugs and sex are prominent throughout the film making it a surreal watch, for something that often feels like something you would have watched in your childhood.

The storyline of the film is alright and adds a few unique twists but overall it wasn’t exactly anything special. It follows a standard fantasy plot with mythical creatures, magic and swords but mixes in such things as wizards weed and hard alcohol. We thought the addition of adult themes was commendable but it still didn’t feel like anything new.

The characters were rather annoying on the most part and didn’t really add anything to the film. Some such as the perverted old wizard did give us a good laugh but didn’t really make up for the rest. The film featured some pretty high profile actors who played their roles well but didn’t have enough exposure to make a noticeable difference to the films quality.


Rating
6/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film was a good laugh but didn’t present anything particularly new or interesting. We can’t really give it anymore than a 6/10 because even though we enjoyed it, nothing really excited us about the film. If you are looking for something stupid and easy to watch then give it a go, but if you are looking for something more serious then take a look elsewhere.

12 March 2013

Let's Steal The Pick of Destiny

Tenacious D launched their feature film the Pick of Destiny in 2006 along with an album of the same name featuring songs from the film. It follows the adventure of the musicians as if they had never met and then by chance formed and awesome band called Tenacious D. However they feel they need an edge and when they find out about the pick of destiny they go on an adventure to get it.

The plot of the film is pretty good; it’s an adventure with plenty of twists and turns and has some pretty unique ideas. Being fans of Tenacious D, we particularly enjoyed the music segments of the film and added to the comedy in a fantastic way. Some scenes were a bit over the top such as the mushroom scene but still made us laugh.

The characters are fictional versions of the duo and it really adds to the hilarity of the film. You can in some way relate to the characters because of this, even if the situations are a bit ridiculous.

It’s an easy film to watch no matter what state of mind you’re in, we often have it playing in the background.

The film has plenty of special effects to accompany the plot and these are pretty fun and make the film more interesting. It was well filmed and all the characters and story were well combined making it a pleasure to watch.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a great film that we thoroughly enjoyed watching, we think that it deserves an 8/10. It really is one of the better music/comedy films that is around. If you are looking for something fun and easy to watch then this film is a great choice.

You Better Change The Bongwater

Bongwater (1997) is a romantic comedy following the story of Dave, a pot dealer and hopeful artist. After Dave’s love interest runs off to New York to be with the heroin abusing Tommy, Dave must get it together to get her back.

With romantic comedies not exactly being our cup of tea, we had been putting of reviewing this movie for some time. The first thing we have to say about the film is that it was pretty boring to watch and seeing the whole film in one sitting was a challenge. It is very heavily based within the romantic genre, rather than comedy and we rarely laughed at the scenes.

The plot of the film was pretty simple and didn’t stray much from the path of a standard romantic comedy. This worked both in a good and bad way; the producer stuck to an idea and built the movie around it in a commendable fashion. However it also failed to hold our interest with the lack of plot twists throughout.

The characters weren’t anything special either, the failed to build any sort of connection with the viewer which we feel is important for a movie to work. This gave us a distinct apathy towards the characters and made us pretty much uninterested in what happened to them during the course of the film. We did enjoy the appearance of Tenacious D although it still didn’t help us chill out and enjoy the film.


Rating
3/10

Links

Related Posts
Perhaps we have been a bit biased here since we don’t particularly enjoy romantic comedies but we do feel that it was a rather poor film. We haven’t read the novel that the film is based on either so don’t know if the sense of apathy was carried across from the book or a consequence of poor adaptation. We are struggling to give the film any higher than a 3/10 just because it really wasn’t for us. If your into easy to watch romance films then you would probably enjoy it but if not we suggest you look elsewhere. We are always happy to hear your views on the films that we review and urge you to let us know what you thought in the comments below.

The Not So Evil Fu Manchu

Fu Manchu is a southern californian stoner rock band that was formed in 1985 by vocalist Ken Pucci, guitarist Scott Hill, bassist Mark Abshire, and drummer Ruben Romano. The Band released their first album in 1994, No One Ride's For Free is a fusion of stoner rock and alternative rock that gives the band their great sound. There sound has changed over the years becoming more stoner rock and less alternative, if your into bands such as Kyuss then you will love this band. They had a lot of members who joined over the years each bringing a unique flavor to the music however they have always retained a similar style. The have a vast number of albums so this review is going to be pretty long, buckle up and enjoy the ride.


Links

Related Posts
No One Rides For Free

The bands first album released in 1994 on the independent Bong Load Custom Records label. This album is a mixture of stoner rock and alternative rock, the album is seen as inferior in comparison to dare devil but we don't agree. We think this Album is great and gives a great taste of what the band is like, however it is much more raw than their newer albums. The sound isn't as distinguished as it is in other albums but still is a great contribution to music.

Our Rating - 7/10

Daredevil

The bands second studio album released in 1995 also on Bong Load Custom Records, this was their last album with this record label before it became defunct. This album seems a lot more focused than the previous having a very distinctive almost classic rock feel to some of the songs. It features brilliant songs such as "Travel Agent" and "Coyote Duster" which have to be in our top 10 Fu Manchu songs. Unfortunately the rest of the album is rather boring and very repetitive, it was a great effort by the band though.

Our Rating - 7/10

In Search Of...

In Search Of... is the third studio album by Fu Manchu, it was released in 1996 on Mammoth Records. This was the last album with Ruben Romano and Eddie Glass, shortly after its release, they left to form the band Nebula. This album overall was a bit of a disappointment for us but still retained its fuzzy sound that makes Fu Manchu unique. The album seems a bit rushed in places but does have a few really good songs such as "Strato-Streak", if you like Fu Manchu then its a great addition to your music collection.

Our Rating - 6/10

The Action Is Go

The Action Is Go was the fourth studio album by Fu Manchu, it was released in 1997 on Mammoth Records. The change in line up really played off here, the sound is much cleaner and crispier than the previous efforts but doesn't loose the incredible riffs we are used to. Every song on this album is brilliant and the songs seem much more inspired, this makes it our favorite Fu Manchu album. This album is perfect for people who want to see what Fu Manchu were like and is a great showcase of their work.

Our Rating - 9/10

Eatin' Dust

Eatin' Dust is the fifth studio album by the stoner rock band Fu Manchu, it was released in 1999 on the now defunct Man's Ruin label. This album is much heavier than previous albums and offers more great songs with brilliant riffs, there is an almost garage style approach to classic rock here and it really pays off. The songs are all brilliantly crafted but can be a bit similar at points. A great album to add to your collection if your a fan or not.

Our Rating - 8/10

King Of The Road

King of the Road is the sixth studio album from stoner rock band Fu Manchu and was released in 2000 on mammoth records. This album marked the return of Fu Manchu and they really took off again with style. The album bursts back the band back onto the music scene with amazing riffs and pumping rhythms. Overall its a brilliant album and certainly one of their bests.

Our Rating - 8/10

California Crossing

California Crossing is the seventh studio album from Fu Manchu, released in 2001 on mammoth records. The style changed again with this album but it really played off, they cleaned up the fuzzy guitar but this only made the riffs into beautifully crafted pieced of art. the same top notch effort they put into their work is still seen in this album and its another of our favorites.

Our Rating - 8/10

Start The Machine

Start the Machine is the eighth studio album by Fu Manchu, released in 2004 on DRT Entertainment. The album is very similar to the last in style and continues to produce brilliant tracks. The songs continue to rock out with series style and are a testament to the bands strength.

Our Rating - 8/10

We Must Obey

We must obey is the ninth studio album by Fu Manchu, it was released in 2007 on Century Media Records. The album is an unbelievable album, the band continue to create amazing tunes that we love. This amazing band just keep bringing out the stoner tunes we want to listen to.

Our Rating - 8/10

Signs Of Infinite Power

Signs of Infinite Power is the tenth and most recent album to be released, it was released in 2009 by Century Media Records. This has to be our second favorite Fu Manchu album, this really is an achievement creating so many spectacular songs and it really shows how much they love their music. This is a spectacular example of stoner metal and how creative the genre truly is, they are a shining example of music gods and we cant wait to hear what the have for us next.

Our Rating - 9/10

11 March 2013

Can you handle the Evil Bong?

It’s not just a bong is an evil force here to steal your soul. Evil bong (2006) combines comedy, horror with a strong stoner inspired storyline in a way we couldn’t see working, but somehow pulled itself together into a finished piece. After ordering a new bong online, the group of flatmates get more than they bargained for when an evil spirit wants to play.

The storyline is simple and to the point but has a few surprises in store for its viewers. The whole story is set in the same place and even the brief journey to the strange hallucinogenic realm didn’t offer much escape from the main setting. This gave the film a very low budget feel, which was a shame due to the fact that it could have easily been better set.

The characters have a very stereotypical representation and don’t offer anything particularly unique; there is the jock, the stoner and the geek. These characters felt very rigid and not organic, the seemed to be played off the conceptual idea of these people in society. There is a few nice touches with people such as Tommy Chong making an appearance.

It isn’t really a horror to be honest, following the route of films such as scary movie where it is more of a comedic take on the ridiculous situations that horror films convey. We aren’t saying it’s a bad thing but we would have preferred a greater sense of peril. The film still did give us a good laugh and from what we knew going in we were surprised how much we actually enjoyed it.


Rating
5/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is very average, and we feel that 5/10 is a fair score. Even though we had a good laugh and enjoyed it, we didn’t see anything that really made it worthy of a score any higher. If you are going to watch the film, then just make sure you are aware of the fact that it’s very stupid and pretty badly written. That way we feel you will enjoy it more.

10 March 2013

A Very Harold and Kumar Christmas

The bumbling pair of stoners return in a Christmas adventure, a very Harold and Kumar Christmas (2011) marks the return of the duo, set six years after the Guantanamo bay incident. With more spills, thrills and another ridiculous story Harold and Kumar don’t seem to have learned much from their past.

It’s more of the same from the duo with another weed related storyline and of course the expected appearance of Neil Patrick Harris. The storyline is the film was pretty poor, unlike the previous two the story felt rather disconnected and didn’t flow well.

The characters personas remained unchanged, marking the only real similarity across the film series. Again the fictional take on Neil Patrick Harris was well done but did come across a bit unoriginal since it wasn’t any different to the previous films.

The film was unnecessarily produced using 3D technology, which we are sick and tired of seeing with modern films. It adds absolutely no enjoyment to the experience and just gives the film a clunky and fake feel. Not only were the effects overused, it also became rather annoying while watching in 2D when you know it should be in 3D.

One upside was the comedy. Most of the scenes were pretty funny and fitted in nicely with the comedy style we have come to expect from them. However it still wasn’t anywhere near as funny as the originals.


Rating
5/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is a huge let down in comparison to the previous films, it did hold some ground of its own but not enough. We have decided to give the film a 5/10 since it wasn’t terrible but certainly wasn’t good. Perhaps we are being a tad bitter since we liked the previous films so much, but it is a sequel so that’s how we reviewed it.

Kyuss

Kyuss, an american stoner rock band formed in Palm Desert, California in 1987 by Josh Homme, John Garcia, Brant Bjork and Chris Cockrell. The band releases their first EP under the name of Sons of Kyuss, but later shortened their name to just Kyuss. The band released 4 full length studio albums before they split, over this time they had many members and have since joined many notable bands. They play a fusion of stoner rock, heavy metal and desert rock which gives them a unique sound that was quite unheard of before they formed. Many people view them as the pinnacle of the stoner rock genre and it wouldn't have expanded in the way it did without them.


Links

Related Posts
Sons Of Kyuss

The self released EP Sons of Kyuss was released in 1990 by the band, at this point the genre was classified primarily as heavy metal and this is shown by the music. This album tends to be much heavier than the other albums but is a brilliantly written series of songs such as "Black Widow" and "Deadly Kiss". This album is very much suited to those who are into heavy almost doom like metal and has to be one of the finest EP's we have ever listened to!

Rating - 7/10

Wretch

The first studio album released by Kyuss in 1991 on Dali records, its the first full length album by Kyuss and has come under some heavy criticism since its release. The album is much like the first in its heavy metal sense of sound bu introduced a new element of stoner rock that gave it a new sound.However many critics claim that the album is a poor representation of the bands sound, that may be so but to make progress you have to start somewhere. This is a good album that most people can enjoy.

Rating - 6/10

Blues For The Red Sun

The second full length studio album to be released by Kyuss in 1992 on Dali records. The style of the band changed slightly again with this album, now being a mixture of heavy metal and stoner rock. Its much less heavy than the previous albums and many see this as the defining point for the bands style. The album received much better reviews than Wretch however it was commercially disappointing for the band but still the decided to push forward. The album is probably our favorite and if you want to give Kyuss a try then give this album a listen.

Rating - 9/10

Welcome to Sky Valley

Welcome to Sky Valley is the third full length studio album released by Kyuss in 1994, the album was initially due to be released in 1993 but after the collapse of Dali records it was released a year later. There music was now completely defined as stoner rock and really started to take off, the album was much more successful than previous and was still a great album. We felt the album lacked something from the previous that made it loose its edge, its still a brilliant album and well worth a listen.

Rating- 8/10

...And The Circus Leaves Town

A fitting name for the fourth and final album released by Kyuss in 1995 on Elektra records, it was released only months before the band split up and marked the end of a great contributor to music. The album wasn't particularly a success commercially or critically and didn't really live up to the path set out by the previous two albums. We still really liked the album and thought it was a great sending off to a brilliant band. If you like Kyuss and haven't listened to this album yet then make sure its on your list.

Rating - 7/10

This Friday it's Christmas!

It’s Christmas in the hood but as ever for Craig and Day Day, trouble is just around the corner. Friday After Next (2002) is the third film in the series and its back to the hood for Craig and Day Day after moving out. Keeping their new jobs is the least of their worries when bad Santa comes to steal their presents.

Being a Christmas film we didn’t have high hopes going in but we have to say that we were pleasantly surprised. The storyline follows the duo trying to find out get things back together after a burglar dressed as Santa steals breaks in.

The plot of the film was pretty good and kept us amused throughout. Even though most of the film was a series of different events rather than a fluid story, it still worked, which is a good achievement.

As usual with the Friday films, the characters are the most important aspect. The film focuses more on how they react to the situations and to each other. The constant clash’s of personality and the characters relationships with each other make for a fascinating watch. This gives the comedy an organic feel and is often something that can be easily related too.


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a great film which surprised us by actually being a good Christmas film. The plot and characters are all well constructed making the film a great watch. We did feel it wasn’t as good as the other two films so are awarding it a 7/10. If you are looking for something easy and fun to watch then we highly recommend that you give this film a try.

Its next Friday already!

It’s just another Friday but this time the hood has made its way to the suburbs. Next Friday (2000) marks the return of Craig and with fears for his safety, he has moved out of the hood. When his uncles house goes up for auction, Craig and his cousin Day Day must find a way to pay of his taxes.

The storyline links nicely to the previous film with many of the storylines linking directly to the events of the Friday. If you haven’t seen the previous film, then the connection won’t always make sense but it isn’t necessary to enjoy the story. The film has several separate plots which combine around a central storyline, even though this breaks the film up it also means it feels more realistic.

The characters play an important role in the film. The relationship between the characters is what provides the majority of the comedy. The banter between them is hilarious at times, making it a fun and light comedy style. The character of Smokey from Friday was one which we really missed, however the new characters such as Day Day and Uncle Elroy were just as funny.

There are plenty of drug references over the course of the film, which are pretty amusing. Although they didn’t add much to the plot, they did add something to the comedic value. These also lead onto some of our favourite scenes for the film such as the scene in the music store.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall it’s a great film that had as laughing consistently throughout. We thought that the story was better than the first film but it lacked some of the style. We feel it deserves a score of 8/10 and would highly recommend watching it. The comedy of the films was not something we originally liked but grew to love by the end.

Its just another Friday

It’s Friday so why not kick back, relax and remember a lot can go down between Thursday and Saturday! Friday (1995) takes you into a day in the life of two friends in the hood, who just want to hang out when they have nothing better to do. However they have a knack for finding trouble and there day isn’t going to end so smoothly!

After being fired from work, Craig and Smokey decide to spend the day on the porch just smoking pot and watching the world go by. They story of the film is very simple and to the point yet manages to be thoroughly entertaining. The overall story doesn’t hold much ground but the individual scenes are well done and provide a good laugh. The ending is actually pretty good and nicely ties up the film.

The characters are the main element of the film, vastly improving the overall experience. The back and forth dialogue between the characters is fantastic and provides most of the comedy throughout. The main two characters provide most of this situational comedy but also the more minor characters equally excel in putting across an enjoyable quality.

The film is particularly visually interesting and seems rather low budget with the lack of settings and tightly wound plot. This however doesn’t impair on enjoying the general chilled atmosphere that is set. The plot does pick up pace later into the film and provides a nice point to end on although it wasn’t all that necessary.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is brilliantly funny and provides a very chilled and easy watch. The storyline isn’t anything particularly special but kept us entertained throughout. We feel the film deserves an 8/10 for providing us with a few good laughs in the evening while chilling with some mates. We recommend this film and honestly feel that it is well worth a watch.

9 March 2013

What does a scanner see?

The unusual adaptation of Philip K. Dick’s novel, A Scanner Darkly (2006), takes a wander into the darker side of the drug world. Substance D is afflicting the minds of the drug community and it’s caught the attention of the authority. Going undercover is Arctor’s chance to bring the drug network down but to get close he has to go in deep and could lose his grip on reality as a result.

The thing that we loved about this film is how deep the storyline is, it’s filled with layers of themes which slowly unravel across the film. It’s a journey into delirium where the characters are given a warped view on reality and must decipher what is real and what isn’t.

The film comes across very strongly with an anti-drug message, with the focus very much on the bad experiences that the characters feel. For anyone that doesn’t know about the book and its author, it’s a semi-biographical novel based on his experiences with drugs.

To carry this semi-biographical feel to the film wouldn’t have been easy, but we feel this was done to great effect by the use of the cartoon filter. This gave everything a very surreal feel where the real experiences blended perfectly with the fictional world. This effect can be strange at first but you quickly come to like it and see how it helps to portray the paranoia and delusions.


Rating
9/10

Links

Related Posts
We have read a few comments saying that the film was boring and be just can’t agree with that. Yes, the film isn’t filled with non-stop action but that isn’t what this film is about. It’s about the raw emotions and mental state of the characters as they have to overcome the difficulty of addiction. If you thought it was boring then you have probably missed these critical ideas that for us make the film so great.

Overall it’s an excellent film with a fantastic style. It’s dark and twisted from the start, and keeps its key messages consistently throughout. The film thoroughly deserves a 9/10 for being a truly unique piece of cinema gold. We hope you enjoyed this review and will stick around a bit longer.

8 March 2013

The return of the Clerks!

The clerks are back and ready to show you that life behind a till is much more than mundane. Clerks 2 (2006) brings back our favourite clerks Dante and Randal who have moved on the world, well as far as Mooby’s. Their lives might appear ordinary but as it turns out, things aren’t that simple. With new characters and a new setting Clerks 2 presents an updated version of the cult classic.

This time around there is much more to the film in terms of plot, there is a much better defined story across the film. This hasn’t restricted the use of the usual sketches which we see in most Kevin Smith films. These small segments don’t influence the story but add a fair chunk of the humour. The story does come across more obviously making the ending of the film pretty predictable.

The characters are again used to progress the story and each has their own segments which neatly fit together to form the overall picture. The relationships between the characters are well defined throughout but it doesn’t prevent the back and forth comedy that is the key comedic element.

In comparison to its prequel a lot of the film has changed. The visual changes are the most noticeable, the film has switched to colour instead of the black and white giving it more of an A-list film. This does make the film feel fresher and cleaner but also makes it feel like it has lost its edge. The jokes are much more visual as well instead of being lightly hidden amongst the dialogue. This has left it feeling less organic but is just as funny none the less.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts
Overall the film is really worth a watch, it has got the characters and themes we have grown to know. While we view the film more as a spiritual successor than a true sequel, however we are glad that much of the classic ideas were carried across. We are glad that we watched the films in order as going back to the original may have altered our opinion. We are giving the film an 8/10 for being brilliantly funny and keeping us thoroughly entertained.

1 March 2013

Magic Flight Launch Box

The Magic Flight Launch Box was a vaporizer that we only recently discovered. Its a budget alternative to other pocket vaporizers and we just couldn’t resist trying it out. We are curious to how well it will perform in comparison to its bigger counterparts.

The Magic Flight launch box is a budget pocket vaporizer available on the internet.The vaporizer is made of a wooden body with a sliding glass panel to access the vaporization chamber. The Chamber is a simple mesh trough that can be filled with whatever material you wish to use.

The Vaporizer is very simple to operate, you simply fill the chamber then press the battery into the vaporizer and start using it after a few seconds. Its a very simple design and that has meant that the price has remained low. This is easily one of the cheapest portable vaporizers that you can buy currently.

A problems to note with this product is that the batteries take a while to charge and are used up relatively fast. Also the batteries do start to heat up which can be hazardous with extended use. The smoke does get slightly tainted by the wooden frame but its not entirely unpleasant. The vaporizer may not have many features but if you going to go cheap you have to expect this.

If you are looking for your first vaporizer then this is a great choice, its simple design means that anyone can be vaporizing in no time. The cheap price also means that if you decide you don't like vaporizers then you haven't sunk all your money into a large investment like the Volcano. 

Overall it is a nice product however it is a very basic vaporizer. There is no temperature variables or any other information. Its just a simple to the point product and we like that.



Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts

DaVinci Vaporizer

The Davinci Vaporizer is a new model that has appeared on the market, the completely portable unit is very handy for smoking on the go. After seeing some talk about the product we decided to purchase one and give it a go. It was one of the more expensive models available on the market so it was going to have to do a lot to impress us.

The vaporizer is made of premium materials and has a hinge opening chamber. The temperature can be set using the buttons on the front and is displayed on a back lit LCD. The DaVinci Vaporizer contains a rechargeable  lithium ion battery, the battery lasts for around an hour of use before needing to be recharged. The problem with this however is that the battery take a while to charge up to full power.

The vaporizer is relatively simple to use but comes with an instruction manual for those who are not sure. The vaporizer is used by filling the chamber with your choice of plant matter or oils and then setting the temperature for your chosen product. After about 1 minute the vaporizer is ready to use and the flexi straw provides a mouthpiece for the vaporizer.

The vapor produced is nice to begin with but after extended use the vaporizer tends to heat up a lot and the vapor gets heated slightly excessively. The oil cans that come with every Vaporizer must be used for essential oils, unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use this so cant give any details on the quality.

Overall the product is very good however the price is a daunting factor, we would recommend the product but not to those who haven't tried vaporization before. The lack of battery is also a concern however its much better than other battery operated vaporizers. 


Rating
7/10

Links

Related Posts


Iolite Original Review

The Iolite Original has been on the market for a while and has a lot of good reviews. The Iolite is a mid price ranged portable vaporizer that is widely available. Constructed by Iolite the vaporizer is one of several that the company offers, the Original being generally the cheapest of the range. We got ours delivered and began setting it up for use.

The vaporizer uses a flameless gas catalytic heating element, this means that the gas used doesn't come into contact with you herbs and cleverly vaporizes it. This makes the system incredibly useful for use while traveling, the gas is easy to replace and lasts for a pretty long time. Not using batteries means that its much more handy to recharge when on the go.

The vaporizer is really easy to use and if you get stuck there is plenty of useful information on getting the best from your Iolite. Its ready to use in around 50 seconds however we preferred to leave it a bit longer before starting use.

One of  the problem we have with the vaporizer is that it doesn't seem as sturdy as other portable vaporizers and the materials don't seem as high grade. Although this has allowed for the vaporizer to be sold much more cheaply than the better built alternatives such as the DaVinci.

Overall it is a nice product however it does seem a bit cheaply built, it also lacks many features such as any sort of display or temperature variables. However we did feel that despite this the vaporizer performed much better than other vaporizers of the slightly more budget market.If you are looked for a handy travel vaporizer then this is a definite must, if your a vaporizer enthusiast however we suggest that you go for a better built model.


Rating
8/10

Links

Related Posts